10
Sep
09

Michigan’s West Coast

Since the beginning of the summer I’ve been trying to do 400-600 mile rides on as many of my days off during the week as I can.  Since I enjoyed this ride so much during the spring, I thought I’d do it again.

Gear:  Arai Quantum 2 helmet, First Gear Monarch TPG jacket, Joe Rocket Phoenix 2.0 mesh pants, Sokz Riding socks (Arrow), Alpinestars Web Gortex boots.

Mileage:  427 miles total, 40 on expressway, 10 on dirt, and the rest on West Michigan two lane beautiful twisties!!

LINK TO ROUTE

Trip Photos :

My GPS sent me down about 10 miles of dirt.  Dual-sport Ninja!!

Ludington Pump Station – uses turbines to pump water from Lake Michigan uphill into a reservoir.  During times of peak power water is released from the reservoir to generate power.

Two of Everything Breakfast – House of Flavors, Ludington, MI

Ninja at Ludington Light

Ramsdell Theatre – Manistee, MI theater opened in 1903.  Where James Earl Jones started his career.

Lake Michigan Overlook north of Arcadia, MI

I think I was bordering on delirious when I took this shot – LOL…blurry biker bitch?

Point Betsie Lighthouse

South Manitou Islands taken from Pierce Stock Drive Overlook in Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore.  The Chippewa legend about Sleeping Bear Dunes can be found HERE.

0 Responses to “Michigan’s West Coast”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

This is what I walked in to see when I got to work today 😂. My long time coworkers readily admitted that with the antics of my early adulthood, they didn't think I'd live to see this milestone 😬 #birthday #40thbirthday #thebig40 Mira wasn't thrilled about the hike back to the Jeep yesterday morning.  After I pulled the bear bag down and grabbed her treats, she perked up and was ready to go!  Our second backpacking trip went well, she was much more at ease sleeping in the tent.  I'm so glad my old girl still is fit and spry and can share these adventures with me!  #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #backpackingwithdogs #backpacking #camping #campingwithdogs #hiking #hikingwithdogs #northcountrytrail #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #olddogsrule #seniordog People watching at Upper Tahquamenon Falls. #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #herdingdog #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #waterfall #puremichigan #ruffwear #olddogsrule #seniordog I don't think any photo could better demonstrate Mira's look of displeasure at me interrupting her attempt to drink Lake Superior in its entirety than this one does 😂 #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #lakesuperior #michigan #upperpeninsula #crisppointlighthouse #dog #water
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,130 hits

