18
Sep
09

Country Roads – Day One

Gear:  Arai Quantum 2 helmet, First Gear Monarch TPG jacket, Held Steve gloves, Olympia Mustang pants, Sokz Arrow riding socks, Alpinestars Web Gore-tex boots.

LINK TO DAY ONE ROUTE

The idea for this trip came about a couple of weekends ago when Andy and I were discussing my trip in the spring.  We decided we both needed a “shakedown” weekend in preparation (me for riding multiple high mileage days fully loaded, him for watching the dogs).

After looking at several options within a 600 mile range of Michigan, I settled on West Virginia, more specifically Monongahela National Forest in the northeast section of the state.

Over the next few days, we worked on making sure my bike was up to snuff for a weekend of solo traveling.  On our one year anniversary we romantically changed my clutch cable and replaced my standard bulb with PIAA X-Treme Whites.

The following day a friend at the shop replaced my disgusting, badly worn original chain as well as my front and rear sprockets.  This was definitely the maintenance I needed, I could set off on my adventure with confidence!!

Thursday, I spent the evening finishing up on laundry and packed my bike so I could leave after work the next day.  After chatter to my co-worker all day Friday, she said she could handle it and let me head out an hour early – YIPPEE!!  I sped home, changed into riding clothes, gave the pups a squeeze then headed to the shop to do the same to Andy – I was on my way!!

Friday’s ride consisted mostly of expressway and the Ohio turnpike but surprisingly proved to be enjoyable.  The sweet smell of hay followed me as a headed east toward my exit.

I’ve driven the turnpike many times, but never enjoyed it this much.  Clouds of bugs that looked like smoke rising and dark clouds to the north provided a striking contrast to the colorful barns and farmlands along the way.

At around 9:30 PM (and only getting lost once), I pulled the Ninja into the Super 8 motel in Wooster, OH.  Thankfully, I arrived just in time to get the last room – thank goodness, I was too tired to ride any farther.  I asked the lady that checked me in whether there was any food around, she said “No, but here, take this I won’t eat it”  She handed me her lunch of a honey chicken sandwich and chips – SCORE!!

It took me a few minutes to get the bike unloaded, then I called Andy and Mom, took a shower and headed to sleep.

0 Responses to “Country Roads – Day One”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

This is what I walked in to see when I got to work today 😂. My long time coworkers readily admitted that with the antics of my early adulthood, they didn't think I'd live to see this milestone 😬 #birthday #40thbirthday #thebig40 Mira wasn't thrilled about the hike back to the Jeep yesterday morning.  After I pulled the bear bag down and grabbed her treats, she perked up and was ready to go!  Our second backpacking trip went well, she was much more at ease sleeping in the tent.  I'm so glad my old girl still is fit and spry and can share these adventures with me!  #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #backpackingwithdogs #backpacking #camping #campingwithdogs #hiking #hikingwithdogs #northcountrytrail #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #olddogsrule #seniordog People watching at Upper Tahquamenon Falls. #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #herdingdog #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #waterfall #puremichigan #ruffwear #olddogsrule #seniordog I don't think any photo could better demonstrate Mira's look of displeasure at me interrupting her attempt to drink Lake Superior in its entirety than this one does 😂 #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #lakesuperior #michigan #upperpeninsula #crisppointlighthouse #dog #water
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,130 hits

