02
May
10

So It Begins…

After a little over a year of anticipation and planning, Stacey’s Great Out West Adventure has begun!!  The past week has been a whirlwind of manic, last minute (read procrastination) trip preparation.  Andy had my bike completely checked over from front to back and it runs perfectly.  Saturday after work I finished packing up and loading the bike and took a quick test ride, ready to go.

Unfortunately, I didn’t end up sleeping too much Saturday night between nerves and making sure I packed everything (I think I got about 3 hrs).  Thanks to my great coworkers, I got out of work early and home by 3pm.  After a bit of hysterical crying and lots of hugs and goodbyes, I was on the road heading to my first night’s destination, Effingham, IL.

Not too much exciting to report from there.  Aside from surviving the crazy drivers through the outskirts of Chicago, the rest of the evening was pretty uneventful.  Checked into a fancy Super 8, made a couple of calls, washed some laundry in the sink and fell asleep while checking my email (woke up at 4am with all the lights on :-))

ROUTE LINK

Stay tuned…hopefully this will get a bit more interesting as I travel further west!!

2 Responses to “So It Begins…”


  1. 1 Debi
    May 6, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Hi Stacey… hope all is well!
    Look forward to more updates

    Debi

  2. 2 kathy brummel
    May 6, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Hi Stacy – hope all is going well, we were talking about you Tuesday nite at book club, wondering how you were doing. (also Harriet was wondering if a Motorbike leads to as sore a butt as riding a bicycle – you have her sympathy if it does!!)
    Back to work – hardly – as I am at sw.
    take care – Kathy


Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

This is what I walked in to see when I got to work today 😂. My long time coworkers readily admitted that with the antics of my early adulthood, they didn't think I'd live to see this milestone 😬 #birthday #40thbirthday #thebig40 Mira wasn't thrilled about the hike back to the Jeep yesterday morning.  After I pulled the bear bag down and grabbed her treats, she perked up and was ready to go!  Our second backpacking trip went well, she was much more at ease sleeping in the tent.  I'm so glad my old girl still is fit and spry and can share these adventures with me!  #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #backpackingwithdogs #backpacking #camping #campingwithdogs #hiking #hikingwithdogs #northcountrytrail #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #olddogsrule #seniordog People watching at Upper Tahquamenon Falls. #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #herdingdog #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #waterfall #puremichigan #ruffwear #olddogsrule #seniordog I don't think any photo could better demonstrate Mira's look of displeasure at me interrupting her attempt to drink Lake Superior in its entirety than this one does 😂 #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #lakesuperior #michigan #upperpeninsula #crisppointlighthouse #dog #water
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,133 hits

