04
May
10

Where the Winds Come Sweeping Down the Plains

After a delicious breakfast of stale Fruit Loops and a nice chat with some fellow travelers, I was back on the road and headin’ west.

I had read that there was a nice section of existing Route 66 near Hydro/Weatherford, OK and thought I’d check it out.  Well, it’s a bit difficult to follow the mother road sometimes and I ended up on a dirt road in the middle of a wind farm.  I’m very glad I got lost because I met my first buddy of the trip, a sweet little donkey standing near a fence on the side of the road.

After a bit of coaxing, Ralph (yep, I named him) let me scratch his nose and ears – he even seemed to like it. 

What a sweet little donkey

Oklahoma definitely lived up to the song (so did Texas and New Mexico) from the time I left El Reno until I got to Albuquerque there was a constant 35 mph crosswind.  I will never ever complain about Michigan wind!!  Nothing like riding at an angle for 500 plus miles!!  It was also blazing hot, I’m guessing black motorcycle gear is not the best for the southwest 🙂

Grill at the Texas welcome center east of Amarillo…only in Texas!!


Ever see a sign like this in Michigan?!?!

Ever since I noticed the Cadillac Ranch outside Amarillo last time through, I wanted to get a closer look.  I’m glad I stopped, how cool!!  On my walk out, an older guy handed me a Sharpie marker and said it was tradition to pass it on so the next person can put their mark on the art.

Can you see my name in the wheel well…LOL?

My second, more stressful glitch of the trip happened west of Amarillo.  My bike started chugging like it was out of gas, I managed to coast into a gas station and fill up.  The weird thing…I still had more than a gallon of gas left.

After calling Andy for advice and riding around the gas station I decided it was OK to get back on the highway.  About an hour later as I hit Tucumcari, NM, it started doing it again, now I was beginning to worry.  Thankfully I was able to limp my way to Albuquerque by filling up every hour or so.

I arrived at my home for the night, Colleen from Two Wheel Females and her great kids made me feel right at home.  So far I had been existing on cheese sticks and beef jerk.  It was great to eat real food – tortillas with cheese, onions and green chiles, rice and beans topped off with a Sierra Nevada porter really hit the spot!!

After being alone for a couple of days, it sure was nice to be around people 🙂  We chatted for a bit and then exhaustion took over, time for me to get some sleep!!

Plans for the next morning…pick up SPOT from Fed Ex and siphon my gas off to check for water.

8 Responses to “Where the Winds Come Sweeping Down the Plains”


  1. 1 Robin R
    May 10, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Miss you. Hope all is aok. Stuff at work is the same.
    Robin

  2. 3 kathy
    May 10, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Hey -Stacie- good to hear your updates. I hope you can figure out the gas problem and
    get the spot going. I like Ralph – was he just out there alone, nothing else in the pasture with him? Well duty calls – back to work. Take care Kathy

    • May 11, 2010 at 1:57 am

      Hey Kathy, the gas thing ended up just being water in the gas I’ve ridden about 2,000 miles since and it’s run like a charm!! And my SPOT came as promised and has been working perfectly!!

  3. 5 Mary Lou Gooding
    May 10, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Wow! You have gotten far already. My son lives in Fort Defiance, Arizona. Derek Elliott and his girl friend Katherine. If you want to find them, I will email the phone number. But, it looks like you are pass there. How are you coming back?

    • May 11, 2010 at 2:00 am

      Mary, I’ve put in about 3,000 miles so far. I’m pretty darn exhausted, and it’s been 35-50 MPH crosswinds for most of my trip…I’m definitely learning alot on this ride!! I’m coming back down through Monument Valley and the Four Corners area. Ft. Defiance is by Canyon de Chelley National Monument right?

  4. 7 Robin Stone
    May 11, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Hey Stac, finally checked out your website. Has been a busy month so far with Kari graduating from U of M May 1st, then the following weekend moving Kourtney home from CMU on Sat and visiting Kelly in Kalamazoo on Sun. We went out to Mongolian BQ for a mothers day dinner. I had never been there, food was OK, but I prefer my chinese buffet that I lunch at on my Weds off. I hope your visit to Vegas goes well, your sister probably needed some family time. The lab is having a potluck for Amy P’s shower and also passing a card around for Matt and Laura’s wedding. Travel safe, talk soon, Robin Stone

  5. 8 Robin Stone
    May 11, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    I am technologically challenged and don’t know how to keep track of you on the GPS. Could you instruct me?? RHS


Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

I'm currently on a long stretch of work (ends tomorrow thankfully), the dogs haven't gotten a ton of activity over the past week or so.  Today I too them out to a local lake for a dip.  Mira was so tired she could hardly pull herself out of the water and I had to drag Yukon, the lab, out by his collar because he was having a tantrum - didn't want to leave 😜. Mira looks a little chunky when she's dry, it's always funny to see her wet when all of her floof is plastered to her sides! #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #labmix #blacklab #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram  #labsofinstagram #swimming #michigan #summer Early chicken spotted on our hike this evening.  I brought a couple home, I'm giving them a second chance. #chickenofthewoods #mushroomhunting #wildmushroom #sulphurshelf #woodstotable #publicland #huronmanisteenationalforest #michigan #foraging RAWR!!!!! Always on turtle patrol, this little mossy-backed Snapping Turtle was in the middle of the road.  I helped it to the other side even though it was ready to fight 😂 #turtlepatrol #snappingturtle #turtle #michigan #baldwin Always cherish time on the trail with this little old lady, she might not be as fast or hike as far as she used to but she still loves to be out exploring.  We knocked out 3 miles on the North Country Trail this morning north of Timber Creek (near Baldwin, MI), nice to have a little cooler weather! #hikingwithdogs #hiking #northcountrytrail #nct #hike100nct #michigan #baldwin #olddogsrule #traildog #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,838 hits

