24
Oct
11

Boulder Mountain Utah – Hail Storm

I had the GoPro running as I rode through a quick hail storm on Boulder Mountain on UT-12.  Yep, I was yelping a bit as those hailstones hit – those little buggers hurt on a motorcycle.  I felt lucky, the guys I passed on the way up didn’t have helmets on… OUCH!!

6 Responses to “Boulder Mountain Utah – Hail Storm”


  1. 1 Jessie
    October 24, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    Wow! I can’t even imagine riding through a hail storm! I would be afraid I would be slipping and sliding all over the place… I would probably pull over and stand under a tree until the hail stopped. You are very brave. What kind of bike are you riding that can handle hail storms???

    ~Jessie

  2. October 26, 2011 at 6:47 am

    I didn’t notice the bike wiggling or anything and there wasn’t really enough on the road to cause a traction issue. My parents had a good chuckle about the fact that I didn’t pull over but by the time I found a shoulder to pull off on the worst of it was done. I had bruises up and down my arms, that seriously hurt 🙂 I’m on a Ninja 650 which is not meant to handle most of the stuff I do (what, you aren’t supposed to ride down rocky two tracks on a sport bike?!?!). My next bike will be something a little more “adventure” oriented, and after this trip my poor bike is ready to be retired!!

    • 3 Jessie
      October 28, 2011 at 2:19 pm

      You do all that on a Ninja 650? You’re awesome!

      I’m considering a more adventure oriented bike, too. Last spring I met some guys from BMW Grand Rapids at a rally, and they were really nice. They let me test ride an F650 GS with a low seat and low chassie. It was totally sweet! Light, agile, and I could put both feet flat on the ground! I’m still thinking about that bike 5 months later! If you are serious about getting a new bike, now is the time to get a good deal. If you are near Grand Rapids, go get a test ride!

      ~Jessie

      • 4 Jessie
        October 28, 2011 at 2:31 pm

        Aww… geez. I just saw your link with the mouseover that your boyfriend works there! Wow. You’ve probably already test ridden that bike. What did you think?

      • October 28, 2011 at 2:36 pm

        Not those guys, LOL j/k – BMW Grand Rapids demo bikes are often in my garage, my boyfriend is a salesman there!! I’ve test ridden many of the bikes and though I’m able to ride the short frame 1200’s I’m extremely comfortable on the low frame 650 twin, that bike is like BUTTER. I’m amazed at how smoothly it falls into the corners plus I just love the low end torque of the twins. It’s on the top of my list of potential bikes, just gotta get a raise in my allowance 🙂 I put on a fair amount of miles a year and it’ll be nice to have a more adventure/touring oriented bike (that Ninja seat is brutal after 800 miles)!!

  3. 6 Jessie
    November 2, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    I agree with you on the 650 twin. Good luck on your raise! 800 miles a day? Any seat would be brutal after that! Are you training for an Iron Butt Rally?


Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

I'm currently on a long stretch of work (ends tomorrow thankfully), the dogs haven't gotten a ton of activity over the past week or so.  Today I too them out to a local lake for a dip.  Mira was so tired she could hardly pull herself out of the water and I had to drag Yukon, the lab, out by his collar because he was having a tantrum - didn't want to leave 😜. Mira looks a little chunky when she's dry, it's always funny to see her wet when all of her floof is plastered to her sides! #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #labmix #blacklab #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram  #labsofinstagram #swimming #michigan #summer Early chicken spotted on our hike this evening.  I brought a couple home, I'm giving them a second chance. #chickenofthewoods #mushroomhunting #wildmushroom #sulphurshelf #woodstotable #publicland #huronmanisteenationalforest #michigan #foraging RAWR!!!!! Always on turtle patrol, this little mossy-backed Snapping Turtle was in the middle of the road.  I helped it to the other side even though it was ready to fight 😂 #turtlepatrol #snappingturtle #turtle #michigan #baldwin Always cherish time on the trail with this little old lady, she might not be as fast or hike as far as she used to but she still loves to be out exploring.  We knocked out 3 miles on the North Country Trail this morning north of Timber Creek (near Baldwin, MI), nice to have a little cooler weather! #hikingwithdogs #hiking #northcountrytrail #nct #hike100nct #michigan #baldwin #olddogsrule #traildog #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,838 hits

