20
Apr
12

Pups Go West 2012 – Day One

Finally the day is here, no work and Utah bound!! My intent was to be up, loaded and ready to roll at 6 am. That didn’t quite pan out, between working way too late the night before and trying to load up the Jeep with two overexcited dogs underfoot, we ended up heading out of town around 730am.

First stop, the Circle K gas station about a mile from my house. I had stopped for gas on the way home from work the night before but needed ice for the cooler. During my incredibly brief stop, my crafty little Aussie had thwarted my efforts to keep her out of the dog food bin by chewing one of the gear ties I used to secure the lid (bloody toothmarksas evidence). Thankfully she didn’t get it open far enough to eat much and we were on our way again!

Ready to Roll Out

I planned my first non-gas stop for Davenport, Iowa – weird place to stop but my stomach won out!  At the north end of Davenport sits a chain sandwich shop, Capriotti’s, that my sister introduced me to in Vegas.  We don’t have them in Michigan and I had been dreaming about one of their signature sandwiches, “The Bobbie” for weeks!  This delight of the sandwich world consists of sub bun, shredded turkey, stuffing, cranberry sauce and mayo…Thanksgiving to go 🙂

After enjoying half of the delicious, long anticipated sub, I filled up the Jeep and hit I-80 once again.  During planning, I thought “Hey, I’ll just drive straight through to Utah…what’s 24 hours of driving?!?!”  I had done it more than once in my younger years, a quick nap at a truck stop and I’d be all set.  Well, apparently my 30’s are catching up with me (that and two antsy – I don’t wanna be in the car anymore dogs) because by the time I hit Nebraska, I realized my visions of a marathon push west was NOT in the cards!!  I took a  peek at the map (and consulted the mighty iPhone) and decided that the Motel 6 in Kearney, Nebraska would be our home for the night.  Bonus…dogs stay free at most Motel 6 locations!!

After unloading a few necessary items and feeding the beasts it was time for bed.  Now, Yuk and Mira have stayed in motels in the past, but the first night out is always a challenge.  They were both on super-high alert, I guess they felt is was their duty to protect the room because every noise in the hall triggered a low growl or quick bark from Yukon with Mira quickly following his lead (she has no clue why she’s barking – she barks first and asks questions later).  I’m a terrible dog mom because after about a half an hour of that nonsense I decided it was time to break out a Benadryl for each of them, for the sake of my sanity as well as the sanity of those in the surrounding rooms.  Thankfully, they settled in after a bit, the next day would be up and at em early – we were going to get to Utah come hell or highwater!

How can this be comfortable?  Mira as seen at a rest stop just east of the Nebraska border.

0 Responses to “Pups Go West 2012 – Day One”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

This is what I walked in to see when I got to work today 😂. My long time coworkers readily admitted that with the antics of my early adulthood, they didn't think I'd live to see this milestone 😬 #birthday #40thbirthday #thebig40 Mira wasn't thrilled about the hike back to the Jeep yesterday morning.  After I pulled the bear bag down and grabbed her treats, she perked up and was ready to go!  Our second backpacking trip went well, she was much more at ease sleeping in the tent.  I'm so glad my old girl still is fit and spry and can share these adventures with me!  #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #backpackingwithdogs #backpacking #camping #campingwithdogs #hiking #hikingwithdogs #northcountrytrail #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #olddogsrule #seniordog People watching at Upper Tahquamenon Falls. #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #herdingdog #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #waterfall #puremichigan #ruffwear #olddogsrule #seniordog I don't think any photo could better demonstrate Mira's look of displeasure at me interrupting her attempt to drink Lake Superior in its entirety than this one does 😂 #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #lakesuperior #michigan #upperpeninsula #crisppointlighthouse #dog #water
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,130 hits

