22
Apr
12

Pups Go West 2012 – Day 3

It’s always unnerving waking up with the feeling that someone or something is watching you.  That was the feeling I had when waking suddenly at 5am on our first morning in Utah.  Surprisingly, it wasn’t the usual staring suspect (Mira), Yukon’s fuzzy black figure was the one hovering over me.  Assuming he wanted to eat, I told him to go back to sleep so I could have an hour or so more rest.  It was freezing in the Jeep so I invited the little snuggle dog Mira to climb in my bag…instant warmth!

My plan was to start the day out with a quick drive down Kane Creek Blvd. past Hunter’s Canyon.  I’ve ridden this road several times on my motorcycle and after traveling it in the Jeep, I’m not sure why I’d ever do it on the Ninja 🙂  Lots of washboard bumps and steep switchbacks…perfect for a KLR or GS not so much for a sportbike!

Campgrounds were still packed for the night so I drove with the dogs up to Green River and grabbed a cheap motel to do some laundry and relax while planning the following day…Temple Mountain Rd. and Goblin Valley State Park in the morning.

0 Responses to “Pups Go West 2012 – Day 3”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

This is what I walked in to see when I got to work today 😂. My long time coworkers readily admitted that with the antics of my early adulthood, they didn't think I'd live to see this milestone 😬 #birthday #40thbirthday #thebig40 Mira wasn't thrilled about the hike back to the Jeep yesterday morning.  After I pulled the bear bag down and grabbed her treats, she perked up and was ready to go!  Our second backpacking trip went well, she was much more at ease sleeping in the tent.  I'm so glad my old girl still is fit and spry and can share these adventures with me!  #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #backpackingwithdogs #backpacking #camping #campingwithdogs #hiking #hikingwithdogs #northcountrytrail #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #olddogsrule #seniordog People watching at Upper Tahquamenon Falls. #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #herdingdog #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #waterfall #puremichigan #ruffwear #olddogsrule #seniordog I don't think any photo could better demonstrate Mira's look of displeasure at me interrupting her attempt to drink Lake Superior in its entirety than this one does 😂 #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #lakesuperior #michigan #upperpeninsula #crisppointlighthouse #dog #water
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,133 hits

