24
Aug
12

Northward Bound

This summer’s motorcycle adventures have been sparse (ok, non-existent) so when given the opportunity to test ride a used 2006 V-Strom 650 for the weekend I jumped on it.  Where to go for a short camping weekend…the Upper Peninsula of course!  On a recent car camping trip, Andy and I had noticed a small campground on H-58 east of Grand Marais, Michigan called Lake Superior campground, that would be my destination for Saturday night.  Since I’m diligently saving vacation for my fall India trip, I planned on leaving after work and staying somewhere in St. Ignace for the night – riding at night isn’t my favorite (especially in rural areas).

After what seemed like a never ending day at work, I got home and loaded up the Strom.  On schedule for a change, I hugged the dogs good-bye and pointed the Wee north.  The ride up was pretty uneventful albeit a bit shaky at first.  It took a few miles to get used to the new machine, but once I was comfortable all was well.  After a few hours on the road, I saw the white towers of the Mackinac Bridge looming in the distance – the gateway to my weekend getaway!

My plan was to camp at either Carp River State Forest Campground or Foley Lake Campground, but while crossing the bridge, the clouds started to open up…motel it would be!  After a few calls to find a place with vacancy that was sufficiently cheap, I landed at The Pines Motel, a little mom and pop on the north end of St. Ignace.  Thankfully there was a convenience store next door with homemade pizza and baked goods.  It was nice being able to take a short walk in order to grab a bite to eat!  After scarfing down a couple of pieces of pizza, it was down to the lake to watch the sunset.  On my walk back, I was joined by a party of bats swooping around me grabbing their evening meal.  Off to bed, it’d be an early morning ride to the big lake and my campsite for the day.

All packed up, the V-Strom ready to ride

0 Responses to “Northward Bound”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

New bow came just before I headed north for rifle season.  Picked up a used PSE Ghost for a decent price on E-Bay, 40 lb limbs and an ILF riser.  I need Hans and Frans to pump me up, I can draw it but it ain’t pretty 😂. For the time being I’ll stick to my 35 lb and work on form. #psearchery #recurvebow #recurve #archery #tradbow #traditionalarchery Yukon was so happy he got to go into the shop today!  He always loves when he finds new people to give him butt scratchins’ 😂 #labmix #blacklab #labradorretriever #labsofinstagram #rescuedog #muttsofinstagram #michigan #flyshop #olddogsrule #seniordog Took my buck into the DNR check station yesterday.  As a scientist, it’s part of the process I really enjoy.  They aged him at at least 3 1/2 years old, possibly 4 1/2, antler bases measured 29 mm and 31mm. @michigandnr #whitetailhunting #deerhunting #rifleseason2017 #riflehunting #michigan #buck #whitetail #deer #antler #buck The heart from my buck was huge!  This is destined for anticuchos, can’t wait! #deerheart #hunting #whitetailhunting #deerhunting #rifleseason2017 #michigan
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,445 hits

