03
Mar
13

Daily Prompt: No, thanks! (No more!)

665214_10100780154860415_2121844027_o

Prior to 2011, the Indian subcontinent held little appeal in my mind. The heat, the crowding, the trash, the pollution – I wasn’t convinced that I wanted to spend 30 hours flying to be miserable. This all changed when my younger sister made the announcement that she would be moving to southern India, Chennai to be exact, for a couple of years. Having my little sister 10,000 miles away for that length of time was a bit difficult to process so I immediately decided I should plan a trip to the land of spices. Tickets purchased, passport and visa approved, I would be arriving in Chennai on October 25th of 2012.

After 3 weeks in the country, my mind was changed. Though there were some frustrations, I left knowing that I would be back again. The people, architecture, culture and religions were all beautiful – despite my short stay, I left a different person than when I arrived. Never again will I say I’m uninterested in visiting someplace – every destination presents an opportunity to learn and grow.

The Daily Prompt: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/daily-prompt-no-thanks/

7 Responses to “Daily Prompt: No, thanks! (No more!)”


  1. 1 morealtitude
    March 3, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    Nice attitude- I like it! I’m not the biggest fan of Chennai, but I do like your approach; there’s nowhere that’s ‘never’- there’s always something beautiful to be found 🙂

    • March 12, 2013 at 6:55 am

      Thanks for reading. There were definitely parts of Chennai that were maddening (replacing my destroyed suitcase at the mall, main train station in Old Chennai) but overall I didn’t mind it – Delhi on the other hand 🙂 One day I would be frustrated by the constant hassle, the next I’d be in awe standing in Mylapore temple enjoying the peace or hanging out at the beach at Kovalam or Mahabalipuram drinking chai with local surfers. As you said, there’s always something beautiful to be found – sometimes you just have to dig a little deeper!

  2. 3 twoscamps
    March 12, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Funny how perspective can change! I’ve been to India twice not sure if I will return but I’d I do I’m sure it will be a different experience. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Maureen

    • March 13, 2013 at 7:41 am

      Maureen, where did you go in India? There were a couple times during my trip that I was ready to pack my bags and get an early flight home…I’m certainly glad I stayed though. I think it whet my appetite for international travel (I’ve traveled extensively in the states but this was my first internation trip aside from Canada). Thanks again for reading!

      • 5 twoscamps
        March 14, 2013 at 9:55 am

        My first trip I landed in Calcutta (alone!) and then traveled north to Darjeeling by train. The second time I crossed overland from Nepal (with my husband) and we traveled the entire length ending up in Trivandrum. From there we went to Sri Lanka. That is great this was your first international trip because now no matter where you go you it will seem a lot easier!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

New bow came just before I headed north for rifle season.  Picked up a used PSE Ghost for a decent price on E-Bay, 40 lb limbs and an ILF riser.  I need Hans and Frans to pump me up, I can draw it but it ain’t pretty 😂. For the time being I’ll stick to my 35 lb and work on form. #psearchery #recurvebow #recurve #archery #tradbow #traditionalarchery Yukon was so happy he got to go into the shop today!  He always loves when he finds new people to give him butt scratchins’ 😂 #labmix #blacklab #labradorretriever #labsofinstagram #rescuedog #muttsofinstagram #michigan #flyshop #olddogsrule #seniordog Took my buck into the DNR check station yesterday.  As a scientist, it’s part of the process I really enjoy.  They aged him at at least 3 1/2 years old, possibly 4 1/2, antler bases measured 29 mm and 31mm. @michigandnr #whitetailhunting #deerhunting #rifleseason2017 #riflehunting #michigan #buck #whitetail #deer #antler #buck The heart from my buck was huge!  This is destined for anticuchos, can’t wait! #deerheart #hunting #whitetailhunting #deerhunting #rifleseason2017 #michigan
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,445 hits

