03
Apr
13

Pups Go West 2013 – Pre-Trip Prep

 

20130404-092353.jpg

Mira testing out her new ABO Travel Dog Bed (my Big Agnes Lulu bag behind her).

The time is upon us, time for the second annual ‘Pups Go West’ hiking and camping trip. Aside from some mishaps, dehydration and doggie seizures, the dogs and I had a great time rambling around Utah for a couple of weeks last spring so I decided I needed to make time for it again.

I’ve made a few changes to our sleeping accommodations: a curtain between the front and back seats instead of Reflectix, thinner more travel friendly dog beds (that can also be used outside at the campsite), an ENO Hammock and my Big Agnes Seedhouse SL2 tent. We’ll be sleeping mostly in the Jeep but I wanted some additional options in case we wanted to sleep under the stars (without the risk of rattlesnakes and scorpions). The dogs still don’t quite grasp the concept of the mesh tent but we all fit it fine and have spent several nights in it.

We’ll be heading out bright and early on April 11th, hoping to hit Western Nebraska our first evening and Utah the next afternoon. For the better part of the vacation, we’ll be spending time exploring the San Rafael Swell/Reef area, Escalante and if road conditions permit Cottonwood Canyon Rd. This year my goal is to be a better blogger and not wait and entire year to start my trip report. Any followers have suggestions on good hikes (with dogs) or must see features in the areas above?

6 Responses to “Pups Go West 2013 – Pre-Trip Prep”


  1. April 8, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Hey there, great stories and love the dogs. What breed (!) isnthe long hair, Mira? She looks like a cross between a Sheltie (Shetland) and a blue heeler (Australian cattle dog). Very cute though.

    • April 8, 2013 at 4:28 pm

      Hi, thanks for stopping by! Mira is a 7 year old blue merle Australian Shepherd, though she has a sheltie-ish face, not the typical Aussie face with a blocky forehead. Great looking kelpie you have, we don’t see them much over here (koolies either). Aren’t herding dogs fun?!?!

  2. 3 twoscamps
    April 9, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Hi there! Don’t know if you are familiar with this guidebook… but he has some incredible little known hikes. We’ve used his guidebooks for years. You could probably pick up some of them up in Moab. Here’s the amazon link to his book about the SR Swell: http://www.amazon.com/Hiking-Exploring-Utahs-Rafael-Edition/dp/0944510175/ref=pd_sim_b_4 We’ll be heading that way in a couple of weeks. How long do you think you’ll be in UT? Cheers, Maureen

    • April 9, 2013 at 1:18 pm

      Thanks for the book recommendation, Maureen. I’ve read about Kelsey guides but don’t have any. I did receive help/tips from the people on the backcountrypost.com forum. The dogs and I will be arriving in Utah on 4/12 and we’ll start heading home the 21st (I think). Where are you guys heading in Utah?

      • 5 twoscamps
        April 9, 2013 at 1:30 pm

        Not really sure we’re thinking of heading to Moab not till around the 20th. If we decide to go sooner I’ll let you know. Hope you have a fun road trip!

      • April 10, 2013 at 2:59 pm

        I’m planning on swinging through Moab on the 20th for a night (if I can find a place to camp – last year was a struggle). I’ll be driving up (taking 95 by Hanksville) from Valley of the Gods. I hope our Moab experience is a bit better than last year 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

This is what I walked in to see when I got to work today 😂. My long time coworkers readily admitted that with the antics of my early adulthood, they didn't think I'd live to see this milestone 😬 #birthday #40thbirthday #thebig40 Mira wasn't thrilled about the hike back to the Jeep yesterday morning.  After I pulled the bear bag down and grabbed her treats, she perked up and was ready to go!  Our second backpacking trip went well, she was much more at ease sleeping in the tent.  I'm so glad my old girl still is fit and spry and can share these adventures with me!  #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #backpackingwithdogs #backpacking #camping #campingwithdogs #hiking #hikingwithdogs #northcountrytrail #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #olddogsrule #seniordog People watching at Upper Tahquamenon Falls. #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #herdingdog #tahquamenonfalls #michigan #waterfall #puremichigan #ruffwear #olddogsrule #seniordog I don't think any photo could better demonstrate Mira's look of displeasure at me interrupting her attempt to drink Lake Superior in its entirety than this one does 😂 #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #lakesuperior #michigan #upperpeninsula #crisppointlighthouse #dog #water
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,133 hits

