11
Apr
13

Pups Go West 2013 – Begin Again

After weeks of anticipation, the morning was finally here, time to leave for vacation with the dogs to Utah. Since I worked a late shift yesterday evening, I packed the remainder of my gear and clothing this morning…that, extreme weather in the area and two overexcited dogs underfoot delayed departure a bit. It was cold, wet and gloomy, which would continue throughout the day and across five states (with a little snow an sleet thrown in).

I made my traditional stop in Davenport, Iowa to grab the amazing sub that is Capriotti’s Bobbie (shredded turkey, stuffing, cranberry sauce and mayo). During the time I was in the sub shop, Mira, the crafty little Aussie that she is, figured out how to open the cooler and had dragged a 2-pack of vacuum sealed New York Strips out. Thankfully she didn’t have time to get the package open. I think my future dogs will need to be stupid, that speckled little nut is always a step ahead of me 🙂

The Bobbie
Rain and cold were a constant throughout the day
Wet weather = muddy paws 🙂
Mira was enjoying the windy day (so much that she forgot she was out to potty)

My original destination for the evening was North Platte, Nebraska but between battling the Jeep in the heavy crosswind and dealing with the rain and snow I was very sleepy and stopped short. One thing that always appeals to me about driving rather than flying, are the amazing things you see while on the road. In the last hour before stopping for the night, I saw hundreds of Sandhill Cranes – I must have lucked out and hit Nebraska during the crane migration. What an absolutely amazing thing to see!

Tomorrow…Utah or bust!

11 Responses to “Pups Go West 2013 – Begin Again”


  1. 1 twoscamps
    April 12, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    Safe travels! How lucky to witness the sandhill crane migration! You never know what you’ll see when you hit the road. Cheers, Maureen

    • April 17, 2013 at 4:47 pm

      Sorry it took so long to reply – away from any sort of connection for a few days. The migration was pretty amazing, I wish it had been a bit brighter out so I could have gotten photos! The following day I saw a HUGE flock of snow geese as well – so cool!

  2. 7 twoscamps
    April 22, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Hope you are doing well. Happy Earth day!

  3. 8 twoscamps
    May 1, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    Hope you had a great time. Are you back home?

    • May 1, 2013 at 10:56 pm

      We did have a great time, despite the chilly weather. We are back home and back in the routine but missing the mountains and desert. I keep meaning to get to trip reports but the sunny and 78 degree weather here in Michigan is distracting me (along with my new hobby – fly fishing 🙂

      • 10 twoscamps
        May 1, 2013 at 10:59 pm

        Glad to hear it. We will head to UT in a week or so. Still unseasonably cool there! Fly fishing is great! I dug out my gear and plan on doing some of that in Colorado his summer! Cheers, Maureen

      • May 2, 2013 at 6:32 am

        I’m amazed at how cold it is still in Utah! Hopefully next year at this time will be a touch warmer. The weather was nice during the day for hiking with the dogs, but a little chilly in a tent at night. As for fly fishing, it’s something I’ve wanted to try for many years – glad I finally have an opportunity. The learning curve seems a bit steep (but I just started when I got back from Utah), I’m taking a casting class on Saturday. I did catch my first fish on a fly, a minute Bluegill, Tuesday evening on a 3w fly rod. You would have thought I caught a whale with as excited as I was – it was pretty fun on that light rod…can’t wait to catch a trout! Where in Colorado do you plan on fly fishing? I have to figure out how to carry my gear on my motorcycle, the perfect combination!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

New bow came just before I headed north for rifle season.  Picked up a used PSE Ghost for a decent price on E-Bay, 40 lb limbs and an ILF riser.  I need Hans and Frans to pump me up, I can draw it but it ain’t pretty 😂. For the time being I’ll stick to my 35 lb and work on form. #psearchery #recurvebow #recurve #archery #tradbow #traditionalarchery Yukon was so happy he got to go into the shop today!  He always loves when he finds new people to give him butt scratchins’ 😂 #labmix #blacklab #labradorretriever #labsofinstagram #rescuedog #muttsofinstagram #michigan #flyshop #olddogsrule #seniordog Took my buck into the DNR check station yesterday.  As a scientist, it’s part of the process I really enjoy.  They aged him at at least 3 1/2 years old, possibly 4 1/2, antler bases measured 29 mm and 31mm. @michigandnr #whitetailhunting #deerhunting #rifleseason2017 #riflehunting #michigan #buck #whitetail #deer #antler #buck The heart from my buck was huge!  This is destined for anticuchos, can’t wait! #deerheart #hunting #whitetailhunting #deerhunting #rifleseason2017 #michigan
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 12,445 hits

