29
Apr
16

Pups Go West 2016 – Anticipation

Anticipation is always high right before heading out on another roadtrip. My plan was to come home from work, finish loading up the Jeep, then snooze with the pups for a few hours prior to beginning our annual pilgrimage to the desert. I’m sure I managed a couple of minutes of sleep, but Red Rock fever had even reached the dogs, they were convinced that 9PM was long enough to sleep and it was time to leave!

Mira ready to roll after spending all day sleeping – glad someone was well rested!

On I-196 by 1030PM, we were set to glide through Chicago traffic with ease, the middle of the night being a much better time to tackle the madness south of the Windy City. Both dogs were pretty impressed with our stop at the toll booth on I-80 when the lady in the booth handed them each a dog cookie!

Cookies!!!!

As the night made way for dawn, it became very clear that this trip would be fueled by copious amounts of Mt. Dew, SweetTarts Mini Chewy candies, 5-hr Energy Drinks and girl rock sung at the top of my lungs, much to the chagrin of my dogs (I challenge you to sing “What’s Up?” By 4 Non Blondes quietly).

Rain turned into snow in central Nebraska making my eyelids droop uncontrollably. I gave in to exhaustion and pulled into a rest stop, crawled into the back of the Jeep with the dogs and took a quick nap.  The heavy snow would continue to cause problems for quite some time, slowing progress all the way through to western Colorado.

Western Nebraska

West of Denver


Silverthorne, CO looking west toward Frisco

My original goal for the first day was to stop for the night in Green River, UT so we’d be close to our destination the next morning.  Unfortunately, the Motel 6 was booked solid for the night.  I checked Grand Junction and not only did the Motel 6 have rooms available, but it was $20/night cheaper than Green River.  Over the years of traveling with my beasts, I’ve decided that Motel 6 best fits our needs.  Not only are they exceptionally dog friendly, but also very reasonably priced (dogs stay free at most which saves a lot) – they may be a bit spartan for some but fit our travel needs very well.

After 24 hours on the road, 2-one hour naps included, the dogs and I were happy to arrive at our home for the night.  Yukon quickly claimed one of the beds and Mira immediately fell asleep on my pillow.  I was amazed that I was able to make the push from Michigan to western Colorado in one day but it was time to rest up for our first day in Utah!

Making themselves at home for the night

0 Responses to “Pups Go West 2016 – Anticipation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Her On Wheels

Instagram Feed

Yukon, 10 1/2 years old and still fast as lightning! ⚡️⚡️ #lab #labmix #blacklab #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #olddogsrule #chuckit #michigan #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #brittanyspaniel It's impossible to get anything done in this house 😊#australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #herdingdog #bluemerle #cuddletime My four chins and I will be tying at the Grand River Fly Tyers booth at the Ultimate Sport Show again tomorrow evening - come on down! #ultimatesportshow #grandrapids #michigan #devosplace #flytying #flyfishing #fishing Just got home from working the late shift.  Laying on the rug in the dining room and look up to see this standing over me.  Dogs make life a more humorous affair 😊 #lab #blacklab  #labmix #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram #labsofinstagram
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,551 hits

