02
May
16

Pups Go West 2016 – Snowed Out

Up early, the surface of the water was like glass, I unloaded the fly rod and headed back to the water with the dogs.  Knowing that the prolific Utah Chub was a major food source in the reservoir, I tied a bunch of white and gold streamers in the weeks leading up to departure.  I tied one on and made a couple casts, still targeting stumps and their roots.  Just as the fly neared shore, a cutthroat shot out from under the stump and grabbed my fly.  Unfortunately, it was a short lived fight as the fish shook its head and gained its freedom.

The reservoir’s water was so clear, anything cruising near shore is visible.  I saw a couple cutthroat swimming back and forth and shortly thereafter a musky, about the size of the one I caught the night before, was on the prowl along the shoreline looking for a meal.  Very neat to see!  Another of the reservoir’s resident aquatic life was slowly crawling from the shore looking for deeper water, a large crayfish I named Pinchy.  No wonder the fish get big in this reservoir, the food sources are large and plentiful!

Pinchy, my new crayfish friend.  WARNING:  Doesn’t like hugs!!13151555_10103133460207635_4257204435007531465_n

13164296_10103133460202645_262632788616104627_n

With the dogs again wet and muddy, it was time to make our way to the day’s intended final destination, the Escalante area.  Thankfully, since we were sleeping in the Jeep, it didn’t take much time to break down camp and be on our way.  Driving south on UT-72, the winding road and scenery were beautiful, eventually opening to the alfalfa fields and pastures of Loa.

Panorama of the view to the east of UT-72image

Our first stop of the day would be to a panel I had recently read about, the Fish Creek Cove Panel.  While the panel has some visible vandalism, it’s still very nice with large headless elk in a procession, dual color shields, hunters bearing bows.  Nobody was in the parking lot when we arrived, so the dogs and I wandered the area, looking at the amazing images.

The road in to the panelimage

Mira relaxing in the cool sand under the elk procession on the panel13100748_10103133442463195_7935185213939966467_n

Procession of headless elkimage

Hunterimage

Additional images on the panelimage

image

image

There were a couple of geocaches near the panel, so we hiked the surrounding terrain, looking for them.  We found the first, after a bit of searching, I chuckled when I finally noticed it.  As we were heading to where I thought the other cache was, a group of people arrived at the panel.  The dogs were wound up at the surprise appearance of strangers, so I decided to save the second cache for another time and hightailed it back to the Jeep.

Found it!13094249_10103133698959175_8296038805328287261_n

13083215_10103133698984125_5185550629863383260_n

I’ve hit all kinds of weather traveling over Boulder Mountain:  fog, bright sunshine, hail (on a motorcycle) and this time heavy snow.  I hoped this wasn’t a sign of how the rest of the day would end up.  Part way across the mountain, I drove down into Lower Bowns Reservoir to take a look, the snow stopping as I left UT-12.  Last year, we didn’t have any luck at this reservoir so I didn’t break out the rods, just driving through the campground and heading back up.

The road into Lower Bowns with the Henry Mountains in the distanceimage

Took Lower Bowns road rather than end up in Tartarus eternally chasing fruit I could never eat 🙂image

Back up on UT-12 over Boulder Mountain heading west toward Boulderimage

 Once down off the mountain and into Boulder, the heavy snow turned into rain and continued on and off, all the way to Escalante.  I stopped at Head of the Rocks, as I always do, because I love the different colors of rock layers segmented by the winding road below.  Over the Hogback and past Calf Creek campground we pulled into Escalante.  I hoped to head up to Posey Lake for a couple of days to fish brookies and rainbows and enjoy the solitude of the mountain.  Unfortunately, weather wasn’t our friend and the mountain was shrouded in snow clouds.  After a bit of thinking, I decided I’d make a quick trip over to Beaver for the night and come back the next day for a night at Posey Lake.  I made a quick stop out on the outskirts of Escalante to fish North Creek Reservoir for a few minutes, but after one hookup, heavy rains and stormy clouds again pushed me back into the safety of the Jeep.  The nasty weather would follow be all the way to the night’s motel where a rainbow awaited.

Head of the Rocks panoramaimage

North Creek Reservoir panoramaimage

Bad weather all the way to Beaver, UTimage

image

The rainbow at the end of the dayimage

2 Responses to “Pups Go West 2016 – Snowed Out”


  1. June 17, 2016 at 11:31 am

    Very cool pictographs/petroglyphs! I saw the some in Batchawana Bay on the north shore of Lake Superior and also in the Snake River Canyon.

    • June 17, 2016 at 12:36 pm

      I’ve wanted to check those Lake Superior ones out forever, just never get around to it. I also need to make my way over to Sanilac and check out the petroglyphs over there. It’s funny, I head to Utah every year looking for more rock art but haven’t seen the ones 2 1/2 hrs from home 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives

Instagram Feed

I'm currently on a long stretch of work (ends tomorrow thankfully), the dogs haven't gotten a ton of activity over the past week or so.  Today I too them out to a local lake for a dip.  Mira was so tired she could hardly pull herself out of the water and I had to drag Yukon, the lab, out by his collar because he was having a tantrum - didn't want to leave 😜. Mira looks a little chunky when she's dry, it's always funny to see her wet when all of her floof is plastered to her sides! #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #labmix #blacklab #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram  #labsofinstagram #swimming #michigan #summer Early chicken spotted on our hike this evening.  I brought a couple home, I'm giving them a second chance. #chickenofthewoods #mushroomhunting #wildmushroom #sulphurshelf #woodstotable #publicland #huronmanisteenationalforest #michigan #foraging RAWR!!!!! Always on turtle patrol, this little mossy-backed Snapping Turtle was in the middle of the road.  I helped it to the other side even though it was ready to fight 😂 #turtlepatrol #snappingturtle #turtle #michigan #baldwin Always cherish time on the trail with this little old lady, she might not be as fast or hike as far as she used to but she still loves to be out exploring.  We knocked out 3 miles on the North Country Trail this morning north of Timber Creek (near Baldwin, MI), nice to have a little cooler weather! #hikingwithdogs #hiking #northcountrytrail #nct #hike100nct #michigan #baldwin #olddogsrule #traildog #australianshepherd #australianshepherdsofinstagram #rescuedog #rescuedogsofinstagram
Follow heronwheels on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 249 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 11,838 hits

